Tiffany Quay Tyson

Tiffany Quay Tyson's picture
Tiffany Quay
  • Young Writers Program
  • Fiction
Tiffany Quay Tyson

Contact Info:


Tiffany Quay Tyson is the author of two novels,The Past is Never and Three Rivers. The Past is Never is the recipient of the Willie Morris Award for Southern Fiction, the Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize, the 2019 Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters Award for Fiction, and the 2019 Mississippi Library Association's Mississippi Author Award for Adult Fiction. Shorter pieces have appeared in The Rumpus' Funny Women Column, The Belladonna Comedy, Slackjaw, The Establishment, SmokeLong Quarterly, The Ilanot Review, and other journals. She worked for a brief stint as a newspaper reporter in the Mississippi Delta, where she received the Frank Allen Award for Journalism. She is the recipient of two Heartland Emmy Awards including one for writing for a children’s public television program. She was born and raised in Mississippi and much of her fiction is set in the south. She lives in Denver.

Classes with Tiffany Quay Tyson

Tiffany Quay Tyson's Published Work

Tiffany Quay Tyson's Articles

The Lookout

Lit Matters: My Life as a Literary Impostor

December 05, 2014

One day in first grade I showed up to school wearing a dress my mother had made.

The Lookout

Rebecca Makkai Talks Ghost Stories, Old Houses, Mad Men and More

October 31, 2014

Rebecca Makkai's recently released novel, The Hundred-Year House, was described by Megham Daum at the Ne