Michelle Tea

Michelle Tea's picture
  • Fiction
  • Nonfiction
Michelle Tea

Contact Info:

Michelle Tea is the author of over a dozen works for adults and children, including six memoirs (The Passionate Mistakes and Intricate Corruption of One Girl in America, Valencia, The Chelsea Whistle, Rent Girl, Coal to Diamonds, and How to Grow Up), two essay collections (Without a Net and Against Memoir, winner of the 2019 PEN Award for the Art of the Essay), a young adult trilogy (Mermaid in Chelsea Creek, Girl at the Bottom of the Sea, and Castle on the River Vistula), a picture book (Astro Baby), a poetry collection (The Beautiful), a novel (Rose of No Man’s Land), a dystopic memoir-fiction hybrid (Black Wave), and the tarot how-to and spell book, Modern Tarot. She is the curator of the Amethyst Editions imprint at Feminist Press, the founder of the literary nonprofit RADAR Productions and the international Sister Spit performance tours, and is the former editor of Sister Spit Books, an imprint of City Lights. She lives in Los Angeles, California.

Michelle Tea's Published Work