Colorado POL Winners

The 2021 National Poetry Out Loud Finals were held virtually as a video submission-based competition, and the NEA strongly encouraged contest organizers at all levels to hold virtual events in order to ensure the safety and well-being of everyone involved with POL. 

In accordance with that direction, Colorado’s 2021 Poetry Out Loud State Finals were held virtually, also as a video submission-based competition. The full-length 2021 Colorado POL Virtual State Finals premiered on Saturday, March 13 at 4:00 PM, which you can view below. And the one-hour Special, Words by Heart: A Showcase of the 2021 Colorado Poetry Out Loud Virtual State Finals was originally broadcasted on PBS12, Thursday, March 18 at 7:00 PM.


2021 State Champion

Aidyn Reid, Valley Fountain School

2020 State Champion

Kiya Cockrell, Valley Fountain School

2019 State Champion

Jesca Gilbert, Valor Christian High School

2018 State Champion

Hannah Alexander, Niwot High School

2017 State Champion

Will Edelson, Fountain Valley School

2016 State Champion

David Cendon Garcia, Fountain Valley School

Past Winners

  • 2015: Jeana Lovett, Liberty High School
  • 2014: Alice Kilduff, Denver School of the Arts
  • 2013: Alice Kilduff, Denver School of the Arts
  • 2012: Samuel Opoku, Thornton High School
  • 2011: Samuel Opoku, Thornton High School
  • 2010: Ben Reilly, George Washington High School
  • 2009: Kaleena Kovach, William J. Palmer High School
  • 2008: Brittany Harden, William J. Palmer High School
  • 2007: Passion Lyons, Gateway High School